We hit the moon. Metaphorically, of course.

Let's fall in love. Why shouldn't we?

It’s about a quarter of a million miles to the moon (it’s exactly 221,463 miles if you’re being a dick about it).  I remember that number from when I was a kid and people were driving and golfing on our heavenly neighbor all the time, so it was in the news.

Well, over the weekend, we had our quarter-millionth blog hit and we’re blushingly amused by it that.  The number made me think of the moon, so there’s your metaphor – if miles = blog hits.

Couldn't have done it without space cows and Hoverboy!

I’m not foolish enough to think it means we’ve had a quarter million readers.  I’m aware it’s a few thousand who’ve come back a couple of times, and a few thousand more who had enough after one visit…and it took months and months of that sort of traffic to build the number- but it’s still a fun milestone to pass, especially when one considers I’ve fruitlessly wasted that many man-hours of other people’s potential productivity with my frothy bon-mots.   I’m just doing my part to slow the economy and contribute to the complete breakdown of our system.

 

Above: The Ty-bunny of Anarchy in one of my many other guises. TRY to be a productive member of society after you've fallen into its distractingly seductive gaze...

Milestones matter.   It’s like suddenly realizing you’ve had your tenth child, or spent your twenty-fifth year behind bars.  I’ll never forget those days either.

Ty the Guy OUT!

Here now, your  Comic Book Moon Moment:

This masterpiece was one of the first comics I ever saw. Take that, people whose first comic book had Dazzler in it.

11 responses to “We hit the moon. Metaphorically, of course.

  1. Considering Zen, I guess what we should take away from this is Ty the Bunny is kinda like TinTin?

    Cheers!

    Steven G. Willis
    XOWComics.com

    • I think that’s the transitive property, not zen. If a=b and b=c. thus a=c. And I think the bunny is closer to Snowy the dog.

      • But, also using the transitive property, and knowing that all mathematical and logical constructs come from Buddism (aka Zen), we then see that the original example was Zen and the bunny it still TinTin.

        Wait, circular logical analyzing logic is… hurting… brain…

        Cheers!

        Steven G. Willis
        XOWComics.com

  2. Paul the Curmudgeon

    Funny how the factoids we learn as kids tend to stick. When I was a ten-year-old coin collector I ran across the mintage figure for the 1948 dime, and for some unknown reason I’ve never forgotten it — 422,741. (The reason it’s so low is, weirdly enough, because India had just declared its independence – but that’s another story).

  3. This milestone is worthy of a spacecow. At least it’s better than Bova, the cow-woman who delivered Quicksilver and the Scarlet Witch…

  4. I’m no good with numbers, but the only thing I remember from university biology is that phosphofructokinase was the rate limiting enzyme of the Krebs cycle of plant respiration. I don’t know what any of that means, but I remember it!

    Also, my first comic was mercifully Dazzler free, but it did have DC’s Halo, which is a kindred spirit. Batman and the Outsiders #10 … still one of my favorite covers.

  5. Actually, if you had read the French-language version of Objectif Lune rather than the inferior English translation, you’d know that Prof Calculus’ real name is “le Dazzler.”

    Congratulations on your moon-landing. I look forward to your exploration of other important way-points in the solar system.

  6. Oliver Townshend

    One of my first comics too! Dazzler as a first comic – What a horrifying thought. I wonder how many of them still exist?

  7. Pingback: Toon’s Fave Tune: Dazzler and Céline Dion « Comics A-Go-Go!

Leave a Reply

