Two entries in a row on their correct days?  The calendar police have gotten to me, obviously.   They waterboarded me all night.  Well, I’m Canadian so it was more of a snowboarding—Hey!  Now an official Olympic Sport!

Today, we dig into the e-mail bag to post some Hoverboy appearances fans have spotted while going about their daily lives.    It seems that Hovermania is sweeping the land at astounding speed.  I can’t take full credit, obviously, as Stark and Nutt (the creators of Hoverboy, back in the thirties) had SOMETHING to do with it, but I like to think my online efforts are keeping the Bucket floating just a little higher.

First up:  A political cartoon aimed at those pesky obstruction republicans.  I think.  Another spot-on ribbing from the always witty FTR Simmons, or is that AZ Simmons, or maybe DJ Hummong**?  I can’t read it, but I’m sure he’s always witty.  He’s syndicated by the AQ Daily SPRUECK or something, so he must be good.  I can’t read any of that stuff up top, sorry.   This was sent in by a Richard Fader, of Fort Lee New Jersey, who noticed the cartoon in his local issue of the daily Sprueck, and sent me a scan of the image in a mere three or four months.  Richard:  To be fair, even though they are wearing superhero costumes, and Hoover-Boy does sound VERY much like Hoverboy, I’m going to assume this cartoon has something to do with the economy, and the reference is far more likely to be about J. Edgar Hoover-a well known millionaire, inventor of the vacuum cleaner, and the industrial dam. But thanks for trying.

Next up is a t-shirt that was for sale at a comic book and fantasy convention in Dallas last month.   Since I’m currently the owner of the Hoverboy trademark (along with Marcus Moore, curator of the Hoverboy museum) a vigilant fan in Dallas (David Waller) thought it was best to alert me to the obviously unlicensed and illegal use of the Hoverboy image on a shirt.  Well, there’s no trademark infringement to small to enforce, David, so we alerted a local law firm in Dallas, who got onto the case within days of the convention last December.   So far, we’ve got a few leads, and I’ve been promised a break any day now.  At only six thousand dollars a month retainer fee, plus expenses (some of which are pretty damn odd, let me tell you), it’s worth every penny to put pirating scum like this behind bars.

Next Hoverboy Friday:  The world’s most expensive Hoverboy toy, valued at almost a hundred dollars!

As always, more of this can be found at the seemingly fallow, but still fun HOVERBOY MUSEUM.

Ty the Guy


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

