Happy Christmas 2010. My favorite Santa Cover

The Golden Age of everything is twelve.

I was twelve years old the Christmas that this giant comic book came out, and it is forever enshrined as my favorite Christmas comic book of all time.  It’s not better drawn, or better composed than other covers, but it was in my stocking twenty five years ago, to this day, and I cannot see this lovely illustration by Nick Cardy without being transported to my childhood home, and my childhood sense of joy at the holidays.

It won’t mean the same to you guys, but I present it, nevertheless…happy Kringle to all.

And now some “unseen” Christmas Comic Book moments of zen:

An official DC Christmas card from a few years back.  Bruce Timm drew the Wonder Woman figure, and I did the rest.


My un-used original version for the  DC Christmas Special collection from the year 2000 (or thereabouts, don’t make me remember dates!).  The final cover that was used was slightly different, and this version only used in the advertising.

Ty the Kringle Guy OUT!

2 responses to “Happy Christmas 2010. My favorite Santa Cover

  1. The “wrapping paper” cover was just slightly different:


    Though your memory was correct that it was from 2000.

    Best of holidays for you and yours, Ty!


    Steven G. Willis

  2. Ty, I have the exact same emotions about that edition of Christmas with the Superheroes… although I got mine off the shelf at Prince Street News, along with the Marvel Superhero Holiday Grab Bag Treasury Edition…. pure magic, and some really powerful emotions attached. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

