Happy Star Trek Fiftieth! YAY!

spock bun toon logo

I’m not a rabbit.  I’m a Vulcan.  This is entirely irrational.

It’s Star Trek’s FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY this weekend, and I’m in PORTLAND at a comic convention.  I can’t be here with you again live at the Bun Toon, but I’m raising money for the Hero Initiative, so my conscience is clear.  I’d just be Tooning about what a jackass Trump is, so we’re spared that at least.

Instead, another Star Trek Related Bun Toon from some time past.  This one from the day after Leonard Nimoy died, and I had to digest the information in cartoon form.

spock passes

Since I was a little boy, fifty years ago, Star Trek has taken over about 10 percent of my brain and about a third of my heart, and I couldn’t be happier to be both a Trekkie fan, and a creator (occasionally) of Trek comic books.

This is the best franchise, with the best fans in all of Pop Culture.

The word is given.

More information about my latest Trek-adjacent, comic book-adjacent project, (Oh, the Places You’ll Boldly Go) click HERE.

kirk tribbles seuss sketch

The Convention Season will be over shortly, and I’ll be back to Bun Tooning as regular as an old man scarfing down prune smoothies next week, I promise!

Ty the Guy OUT!



Presented without comment.  But this was a real thing.

4 responses to “Happy Star Trek Fiftieth! YAY!

  1. I ate those Sugar Smacks. And you’ve given me a hankering for them right now. I love how they felt Spock needed a name badge.

  2. Remember seeing those first ads for the TV series? I was nine. My thinking was, “This is the greatest thing in my whole life.” I have never wanted to watch a TV series more.

  3. Hey, as long as you’re bragging, don’t forget the covers you recently did for those other Star Trek books:


Leave a Reply

